Where the natural ends and the supernatual begins…

Pepper’s ghost theory

I decided to stray for the real over to the fantasy for a spell. If you haven’t heard of what this is, well it’s a very convincing way to invent a ghost.

Ever heard the term, with smoke and mirrors, well this is why. Through the proper use of lights, glass and mirrors you can create a very convincing spectral image. For example


you can see in this video a very real looking ghost that play’s the piano, quiet convincing correct? You can not see any mirrors, glass or lights to project the image. If you read the comment section you can see that there was a piece of poster board just out of view. The image is projected onto that board which reflect off the screen and into the glass which is right in front of the window. The glass has no border so it blends quiet nicely into the background making you think it’s not there.

Another example:

This clearly shows how the ghost is executed.

Pretty convincing huh? I am currently in the process of generating my own ghost for a haunted house that I do. I can only hope I can pull it off in time!

Hope you enjoyed and now you know how to spot a fake!

3 responses

  1. ghost_in_the_machine

    An excellent post on Pepper’s ghost Kim. Always loved the subject and can’t wait to see the results of your labour. : D

    January 25, 2012 at 6:55 PM

  2. Lovely site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

    February 4, 2012 at 8:26 PM

    • Thanks so much! I’m so happy, I have a few I’m working on, I’ll get them ASAP!

      February 13, 2012 at 12:15 PM

Leave a Reply

